You are here


Police Division

The University of Iowa Department of Public Safety’s Police Division is led by the Associate Director and Chief, Lucy Wiederholt. Three captains are in charge of separate sections of the Police Division. The largest is Patrol, which consists of twenty-two sworn officers and six police lieutenants on three different watches. Another captain is in charge of the Security Division, a contingent of unsworn security officers, as well as training and professional standards. The third captain is in charge of Investigations and Special Event management. Four investigators are in this section, and they conduct criminal investigations, threat assessment, and are on the county drug task force. All police officers in the Police Division must fulfill all state mandated certifications for law enforcement officers, whether at the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy or another state academy, followed by a sixteen week program of intense one on one training by a certified Field Training Officer.

Specialized positions within the Police Division include two K-9 officers, one technician on the Johnson County Metro Bomb Squad, a Community Outreach Officer, two Detectives, instructors for Rape Aggression Defense (R.A.D.) and Violent Incident Survival Training (V.I.S.T.), as well as bike patrol officers, motorcycle patrol officers and instructors for multiple aspects of law enforcement operations.

The Police Division provides 24/7 law enforcement for the University of Iowa (including the University of Iowa Research Park at Oakdale and the UIHC), and its operations are integral in the overall mission of the University of Iowa Department of Public Safety.